counter easy hit

2009 Award Winners

The IPS Prize and Medal Awards are generously sponsored by: World Scientific Pte. Ltd., Research Instruments Singapore, Crescendas Group and Cadi Scientific Pte. Ltd.

2009 IPS Medallists

1) The IPS President's Medal

Prof. Tang Seung Mun Prof. Tang Seung Mun
(Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, NAFA)

Professor Tang Seung Mun made outstanding contributions in leadership when he was NUS Head of Physics Department. He was also an outstanding physics researcher at the Centre for Ion Beam Applications, CIBA, while in the National University of Singapore. Professor Tang is currently the Vice President of Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts.

2) The World Scientific (Physics Research) Medal and Prize (Quantum Physics Research)

Prof. Vedral Vlatko Prof. Vedral Vlatko
(National University of Singapore, NUS)

Professor Vedral Vlatko from Wolfson College, Oxford University, received the IPS World Scientific Medal, for outstanding contributions to Quantum Information research done at the National University Singapore that has received international recognition. He is also Centenary Professor of Quantum Information Science at Leeds University.

3) The Omicron Nanotechnology Medal and Prize (Nanotechnology Physics Research)

Dr. Chen Wei Dr. Chen Wei
(National University of Singapore, NUS)

Assistant Professor Chen Wei has done outstanding physics research in molecular electronics, organic electronics and graphene-related devices at the National University Singapore and has received international recognition. He was also a Lee Kuan Yew Postdoctoral Research Fellow.

4) The Crescendas Physics Medal and Prize (Junior College)

Mr. Tan Hoe Teck Mr. Tan Hoe Teck
(Catholic Junior College, CJC)

An outstanding and innovative physics teacher, Mr. Tan Hoe Teck has given Catholic Junior College students greater value-added scientific opportunities and exposure to physics skills through regular Astronomy field trips. CJC is the only junior college that owns an amateur radio telescope in Singapore.

Mrs. Loh-Lam Yen Ling Mrs. Loh-Lam Yen Ling
(Hwa Chong Institution, HCI)

Mrs. Loh is an outstanding physics teacher with vast experience (a physics teacher since 1998) in teaching Physics at Hwa Chong Institution. She is an excellent leader in the pedagogies of physics education. Her philosophy of creative teaching and engaged physics learning has won her the respect of her fellow physics lecturers and students at HCI.

5) The Cadi Scientific Medal and Prize: The Public Awareness of Physics Award

Mr. Yeh OC and Mr. Lim SH Mr. Yeh OC & Mr. Lim SH
(Nanyang Polytechnic, NYP)

Mr. Yeh Ong Chua and Mr. Lim Sin Hoe were outstanding in promoting physics through Astronomy. To date, more than 80 secondary schools and thousands of students have participated in their highly popular activities, Astro-Lectures, Annual Astronomy Competition (12th year) and Astronomy Retreats (16th year)

6) The Honorary IPS Fellowship Award

Prof. Peter Grüenberg Prof. Peter Grüenberg
(Nobel Laureate, 2007)

Institut für Festkörperforschung, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Jülich, Germany.

Sir Martin Rees Sir Martin Rees

Trinity College, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Yearly Awards

2010 IPS Awards

2009 IPS Awards

2008 IPS Awards

2007 IPS Awards

2006 IPS Awards

2005 IPS Awards

Annual Best Undergraduate Physics Medal

Annual Best A Level Physics students

Physics Olympiad Medal Statistics

International Physics Olympiad Awards

Asian Physics Olympiad

Singapore Physics Olympiad

Singapore Junior Physics Olympiad


About Us | Site Map | Contact Us | ©2009 Institute of Physics Singapore | CSC Design