This safety website was established to provide student and staff of Department of Physics with a convenient source of useful safety information, including NUS safety policies, standard operating procedures, guidelines, department induction procedures, rules and regulations. It is maintained by the Department Safety and Health Committee (DSHC).

Department Safety and Health Committee
Department Safety and Health Committee was formed to assist and advise the Head of Department on safety and health matters. The committee is committed to work with the department to establish a positive safety and health culture through adoption of best practices and compliance of legal requirements.

Prior to this committee, the safety committee was known as LOTUS which stands for “Let The Team Uphold Safety” formed in 2003. Going way back to 1999, the safety committee was simply the Physics Safety Committee.

Our Mission
To create a safe and healthy workplace through awareness and compliance with legal and the university's safety and health policies.

Our Vision
We aim to achieve the highest level of safety standard in our department.

Department Safety and Health Committee (DSHC)

  • Head
    Prof Sow Chorng Haur, 6516 2603
  • Deputy Head
    A/Prof Phil Chan, 6516 6390
  • Chair
    A/Prof Johan RC van der Maarel, 6516 4396
  • Co-Chair
    Mr. Teo Hoon Hwee, 6516 4122
  • Assistant Co-Chair
    Mr. Wu Tong Meng Samuel, 6516 2634
  • Secretary
    Mrs. Lee Soo Mien, 6516 2823
  • Members
    Mr. Ng Tong Hoe, 6516 2632
    Mr. Kek Chun Peng Ben, 6516 2613
    Mr. Suradi bin Sukri, 6516 2630
    Mr. Chen Gin Seng 6516 2823
    Mr. Wong How Kong, 6516 2999



Department of Physics Safety and Health Policy

Department of Physics is committed to ensure a high standard of occupational safety° and health for its staff, students and visitors to the department in the areas of research, teaching and service activities. We aim to create this safe and healthy environment through alignment with university safety and health policies and best practices. We are also committed to work closely with Office of Safety, Health and Environment (OSHE), Faculty Safety Officer (FSO) and other university stake holders to fulfill this objective. Our vision is to achieve the highest level of safety standard attainable in our department at any point of time.

We demonstrate our commitment by adhering closely to the following policy statements.

1) Safety & Health

We strive to establish a positive Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) culture in research, teaching and service activities through adoption of best practices and systems.

2) Accident Prevention

We will work toward zero incident/accident by identifying and evaluating the OSH risks and managing them to prevent injuries and ill health to our department staff, students and visitors. This is achieved through implementation of our OSH management system which is reviewed periodically to ensure its effectiveness.

3) Compliance

We shall comply with the applicable OSH legislations and guidelines described in the university's safety and health policy. We shall also comply with the rules and regulations implemented by faculty and department.

4) Training & Education

We will equip our staff and students with safety knowledge, skills and competencies by ensuring that they attend mandatory safety trainings as required by NUS, faculty and department. We also encourage and support them to attend relevant online and in-house safety courses organized by University and OSHE. Within the faculty and department, we reinforce their safety knowledge through briefings and safety induction programs.

5) Innovation & Continual improvement

We shall review, revise and improve our occupational safety and health policy regularly through adoption of best practices, setting and reviewing of OSH objectives, participations in faculty safety competitions and OSHE's programs such as Safety Team Awards and NUS Safety and Health Awards.

6) Environmental Protection and Sustainability

We will strive for waste minimization and emissions through the hierarchy of controls, recycling and controlled chemical procurement to protect and sustain the environment.

Prof Sow Chorng Haur
Department of Physics
25 October 2018




  1. To achieve reduction in number of category findings in Department SHMS audit in 2019 by 25% as compared to last audit.
  2. To put in place a system at the department level to monitor training completion status of new laboratory users in 2019, with the aim to achieve full compliance of training requirements by them.
  3. To achieve zero fire incident due to overnight experiment in 2019.



Safety Resources

Key in code & press enter to view:  



Emergency Contacts

  • Fire / Ambulance, 995
  • Police, 999
  • Campus Security, 6874 1616
  • Bio-Science (S16) Security Guard Room, 6516 2365
  • University Health Service, 6776 1631
  • National University Hospital, 6779 5555