This safety website was established to provide student and staff of Department of Physics with a convenient source of useful safety information, including NUS safety policies, standard operating procedures, guidelines, department induction procedures, rules and regulations. It is maintained by the Department Safety and Health Committee (DSHC).

Department Safety and Health Committee
Department Safety and Health Committee was formed to assist and advise the Head of Department on safety and health matters. The committee is committed to work with the department to establish a positive safety and health culture through adoption of best practices and compliance of legal requirements.

Prior to this committee, the safety committee was known as LOTUS which stands for “Let The Team Uphold Safety” formed in 2003. Going way back to 1999, the safety committee was simply the Physics Safety Committee. 

Our Mission
To create a safe and healthy workplace through awareness and compliance with legal and the university's safety and health policies.

Our Vision
We aim to achieve the highest level of safety standard in our department.

2003 – Bronze Medal, SITP Convention
2004 – Gold, SITP
2005 – ASPHA, Silver
2006 – ASPHA, Silver
2008 – ASPHA, Silver
2009 – ASPHA, Silver
2012 – ASPHA, Commitment
2014 – ASPHA, Commitment

Department Safety and Health Committee (DSHC)



Science Dean’s Office Safety Team


Mr. Syam Kumar Prabhakaran

651 61310

Ms Beh Hui Min, Belinda

651 68199



Faculty Safety Officers


Ms Huang Li Xia, Alicia

651 66959

Dr Shao Yi-Ming

660 13976



Emergency Numbers


Fire / Ambulance




Campus Security

6874 1616

Bio-Science (S16) Security Guard Room

651 62365

University Health Service
0830 to 1800 hours  (Mondays to Thursdays)
0830 to 1730 hours  (Fridays)

6776 1631

National University Hospital

6779 5555


Department Safety and Health Committee (DSHC)





Prof Sow Chorng Haur

651 62603

Deputy Head

A/Prof Phil Chan

651 66390





A/Prof Johan RC van der Maarel

651 64396


Mr. Teo Hoon Hwee

651 64122

Asst. Co-Chair

Mr. Wu Tong Meng Samuel

651 62634


Mrs. Lee Soo Mien

651 62823


Mr. Choo Theam Fook

651 62998


Mr. Foong Chee Kong

651 62630


Mr. Lim Bun Siang

651 62824


Mr. Ng Tong Hoe

651 62632


Mrs. Phua Swee Wah

651 68679


Mr. Suradi bin Sukri

651 62642


Mr. Wong How Kong

651 62999


Mr. Chen Gin Seng

651 62823


Ms. Ng Soo Ngo

651 62823